The Structure of Mobile Financial Services in Bangladesh
Mobile Financial Services (MFS) have transformed financial inclusion in Bangladesh, enabling unbanked and digital-first citizens to conduct real-time fund transfers, merchant payments, utility bill collections, and inward remittance reception directly from their mobile handsets.
Regulated under Bangladesh Mobile Financial Services Regulations 2022 by Bangladesh Bank, MFS accounts operate under stringent transaction ceilings and AML/CFT surveillance.
Comparative Cash-Out Tariff Structure
| Provider | App Cash-Out (per ৳1,000) | USSD Cash-Out (per ৳1,000) | Primary Preferred Partner Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| bKash (BRAC Bank subsidiary) | ৳18.50 per thousand from any agent. ৳13.95 per thousand from up to 2 Priyo agents, up to ৳50,000 in a calendar month. | Same agent charges by dialing *247#. | ৳14.90 per thousand at BRAC Bank, City Bank, and Q-Cash ATMs. |
| Nagad | Tk 12.99 per thousand on the Regular App. Tk 15.00 per thousand on the Islamic App. VAT included. | Tk 15.00 per thousand by dialing *167#, Regular and Islamic. VAT included. | The cash-out page says ATM cash-out is not currently available. |
| Rocket (DBBL) | FAQ: Tk 18 per thousand from an agent. The charges page is labeled proposed and prints 1.67% for a general consumer at an agent. | The FAQ does not state a separate USSD cash-out charge. | FAQ: Tk 9 per thousand from DBBL Fast Track or ATM. |
| Upay (UCB) | Primary account: 1.40% from an agent. Remittance 1%, disbursement 0.70%, salary 1.0%. | The limits page does not state a separate USSD cash-out charge. | Primary account: 0.8% at a UCB ATM. Disbursement, remittance, and salary: no charge. |
| TAP (Trust Axiata Pay) | General wallet: 1.47% from an agent on the app. Student wallet: 1.2%. | General wallet: 1.8% from an agent by USSD. Student wallet: 1.2%. | The limits page does not state an ATM cash-out charge. Cash-out from a branch is 1% for a general wallet and free for a student wallet. |
| MYCash (Mercantile Bank) | 1.85% up to BDT 10,000. Minimum charge BDT 5. No rate is stated above BDT 10,000. | The tariff does not state a separate USSD cash-out charge. | The tariff does not state an ATM cash-out charge. |
| mCash (Islami Bank) | General: 1.39% from an mCash agent or agent-banking outlet. Salary, scholarship, foreign remittance, and government salary with incentive: 0.70%. | The charges table does not state a separate USSD cash-out charge. | General: 0.70% at a branch, sub-branch, ATM, or CRM. Salary, scholarship, foreign remittance, and government salary with incentive: free. |
| OK Wallet (ONE Bank) | OK agent, mobile app: 1.7%. That cell does not state a taka floor. | OK agent, USSD: 1.8% or Tk 10, whichever is higher. | OBL branch or OBL ATM: 1% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, on USSD and on the app. |
| TeleCash (Southeast Bank) | General wallet through an agent: 1.49% on the app and by USSD. Salary through an agent: 1.65% on the app and by USSD. Remittance through an agent: 0.70% on the app. | General wallet through an agent: 1.49%. Salary through an agent: 1.65%. | SEBPLC ATM: 0.00% on the app. Another bank’s ATM: NPSB charge, with no taka amount on that row. |
| Islamic Wallet (Al-Arafah) | Agent point, app: 1.50%. That cell does not state a taka floor. | Agent point, USSD: 1.8% or Tk 10, whichever is higher. | AIB bank branch: 1% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, on the app and by USSD. The fees file does not state an ATM cash-out charge. |
| MeghnaPay (Meghna Bank) | MeghnaPay agent, app: 1.40%. That cell does not state a taka floor. | MeghnaPay agent, USSD: 1.60% or Tk 5, whichever is higher. | Branch or ATM, own or other bank: 1% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, on USSD and on the app. |
| LENDEN (Prime Bank FinTech) | Primary pocket: 1.45%. Smart or Payout pocket: 0.95%. Government disbursement: 0.60%. | The calculator says the Primary rate is the same on *365#. | The cash-out page does not state an ATM cash-out charge. |
Regulatory Limits & Interoperability
Under Bangladesh Bank circulars, personal retail MFS accounts feature daily add-money caps (typically ৳30,000 per day) and monthly transaction caps (৳2,00,000 per month).
The Nagad limits page shows cash-out of Tk 30,000 a day (15 times) and Tk 200,000 a month (150 times), from Tk 50 to Tk 30,000 per transaction, and cash-in of Tk 50,000 a day (15 times) and Tk 300,000 a month (150 times), from Tk 50 to Tk 50,000. It says this increased limit remains effective until 30 May 2026. A Nagad account can hold up to Tk 500,000. Inward remittance is excepted from that balance cap, while other incoming money stays blocked until the balance drops below Tk 500,000. Remittances and disbursements can still be received. The cash-out page states Tk 12.99 per thousand on the Regular App, and Tk 15.00 per thousand on the Islamic App and by dialing *167# for both Regular and Islamic. VAT is included. That page says cash-out from an ATM booth is not currently available.
The TAP limits page states cash-out from an agent at 1.47% for a general wallet on the app, 1.8% for a general wallet by USSD, and 1.2% for a student wallet. Cash-out from a branch is 1% for a general wallet and free for a student wallet. That page does not state an ATM cash-out charge. Send money is Tk 5.00 from a general wallet to a general wallet, 0.6% from a general wallet to a student wallet, and Tk 5.00 from a student wallet to any wallet. Cash-out from an agent is Tk 50 to Tk 30,000 per transaction, Tk 30,000 a day, and Tk 200,000 a month.
The MYCash tariff workbook states cash-out at 1.85% up to BDT 10,000, with a minimum charge of BDT 5. It does not state a cash-out rate above BDT 10,000, a separate USSD cash-out charge, or an ATM cash-out charge. Person-to-person transfer is Tk 5 up to BDT 10,000. The limits page states 5 cash-out transactions a day, from BDT 50 to BDT 25,000, and 20 a month up to BDT 150,000.
The mCash page states a general cash-out of 1.39% from an mCash agent or agent-banking outlet, and 0.70% from a branch, sub-branch, ATM, or CRM. Salary, scholarship, foreign remittance, and government salary with incentive are 0.70% from an agent or agent-banking outlet, and free from a branch, sub-branch, ATM, or CRM. The table does not state a separate USSD cash-out charge. The same page states a withdraw limit of 5 a day and Tk 25,000, and 20 a month and Tk 150,000.
The ONE Bank schedule of charges effective 14 May 2026 states cash-out from an OK agent at 1.8% or Tk 10, whichever is higher, by USSD, and 1.7% on the mobile app. Cash-out at an OBL branch or OBL ATM is 1% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, on USSD and on the app. OK to OK transfer is Tk 5 by USSD and free from the app. The schedule does not state a USSD shortcode or a wallet limit.
The Southeast Bank TeleCash schedule, with effect from 1 July 2025, states cash-out of a general wallet balance through an agent at 1.49% on the mobile app and by USSD. Salary cash-out through an agent is 1.65% on the app and by USSD. Remittance cash-out through an agent is 0.70% on the app. Cash-out through an SEBPLC ATM is 0.00% on the app. Cash-out through another bank’s ATM is an NPSB charge, and that row does not state a taka amount. Send money within TeleCash is free on the app and by USSD.
The Islamic Wallet fees file dated 6 April 2025 states cash-out from an agent point at 1.50% on the app, and 1.8% or Tk 10, whichever is higher, by USSD. Cash-out from an AIB bank branch is 1% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, on the app and by USSD. The fees file does not state an ATM cash-out charge. The limits page states cash-out from an agent point of 10 times a day and 100 times a month, from Tk 50 to Tk 30,000 per transaction, Tk 30,000 a day, and Tk 200,000 a month. A wallet can hold up to Tk 500,000.
The MeghnaPay schedule of charges states cash-out from a MeghnaPay agent at 1.60% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, by USSD, and 1.40% on the mobile app. Cash-out at a branch or an ATM, own or other bank, is 1% or Tk 5, whichever is higher, on USSD and on the app. Person-to-person transfer is Tk 5 by USSD and free on the app. The FAQ names *735# as the USSD channel. The limits page states cash-out from an agent or a Meghna Bank branch from Tk 50 to Tk 30,000 per transaction, Tk 30,000 a day, and Tk 200,000 a month. A MeghnaPay account can hold up to Tk 500,000.
The LENDEN charge calculator states cash-out from an agent for a Primary pocket at 1.45%, and says that rate is the same in the app and on *365#. Cash-out from an agent for a Smart or Payout pocket is 0.95%. Government disbursement cash-out is 0.60%. The limits page states cash-out from an agent of Tk 50 to Tk 30,000 per transaction, 10 times a day and Tk 30,000, and 100 times a month and Tk 200,000.
Interoperability through the National Payment Switch Bangladesh (NPSB) and Binimoy platform permits direct fund routing between participating commercial bank accounts and MFS wallets.
Compare mobile financial services (MFS)
Review bKash, Nagad, Rocket, Upay, and TAP wallet tariffs, limits, and cash-out charges.